Homeschooling with a Newborn

Lately I’ve realized that I am in denial about what school (and everything else) will be like around here when number four comes.  I imagine us peacefully having school while I nurse the baby.  I think I need to be more realistic and allow myself a month or two of doing nothing or just the bare minimum as far as school goes.  I guess this is one of those things where I wont know how it will be until I’m experiencing it.  Does anyone have any multitasking tips as far as homeschooling with a newborn???

3 thoughts on “Homeschooling with a Newborn

  1. My wife crammed a BUNCH of stuff in to get three weeks of a break after the newborn. She is a hyper-scheduler and I am sure she even has some scheduled “toilet” reading for them.

    Try not to panic about this. Nursing and reading is good for both the homeschooled children and the newborn.

  2. So, I’ve been thinking about your “plight” and though I am not really qualified to give you advice on Homeschooling with a newborn; I can tell you a little about stressing out and trying to get everything done with a newborn. Unfortunatley I didn’t find this out until my fifth baby, but better late than never right? Just go with the flow, love the baby and enjoy the small amount of time that they are so tiny and wonderful, you never get those days back. School will ALWAYS be there, but tiny little newborn and watching the older kids interact with her will not. Enjoy, don’t worry about anything!

  3. sling that baby! Nurse in the sling, let them sleep in the sling and observe the world from the sling (or a swing/baby seat when that works better). Too bad you can’t change diapers while they’re in a baby carrier! It will make your life SO much easier, not that I have the slightest clue what homeschooling really is like.

Leave a Reply

