Weekend With Dad

Since Sabrina is making dolls and visiting caverns with her sister Natalie in Texas, I am watching the kids until Monday night. Yesterday, our friend Shellie watched the kids in the morning. I didn’t have enough time to get them totally presentable because I had to get to work. I did comb Luke’s and Sylvia’s hair because theirs looked the worst. When I dropped them off, Shellie asked me if they had eaten breakfast yet, which of course hadn’t even crossed my mind. I found out later that she made them pancakes for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch. When I picked them up around 1:00, I told Shellie that I was sorry Isabel’s hair was a little wonky. She said, no problem, she had combed it AND worked on teaching Luke how to ride a bike! So that pretty much sealed it for me being a loser dad. But I really appreciate Shellie watching them. She has been a friend since high school, is a lot of fun and the kids loved being over there.

So yesterday afternoon, the fill rocks that I had ordered for my backyard had been delivered so I spent the afternoon working among three tasks: 1) Wheeling the rocks into the backyard 2) Updating people at work about what they should be working on 3) Homeschooling. Actually, homeschooling didn’t take much time, because we did science first and were reading about how flamingos eat and Isabel fell asleep. Sylvia feel asleep right after that and the two girls were asleep the rest of the afternoon. Luke was writing for a long time and then played WebKinz. After dinner (blueberry pancakes) I had Luke and Isabel do their math worksheets. Then we all played Mario Kart together. The kids then watched Bee Movie. Luke and Sylvia went to sleep but Isabel couldn’t because of her long nap. I was working online with our India Programmers and she kind of hung around me and watched some TV until about 12:30AM.

Today (Saturday) we went to Exploration Park. The kids played on the playground and ran around on the grass. After that we went to Target and bought some seeds for our garden and a gardenia bush. We had lunch at O’hanas Hawaiian BBQ. This afternoon, I worked in the yard and the kids played in the sprinklers. Sylvia followed me everywhere asking where her momma was. She’s asked about a hundred times (really) since Sabrina left. It’s cute but seriously it does become annoying after so many times. Her most common responses when I tell her that momma is in Texas are: 1) She just looks at me without expression or even blinking her eyes or 2) She says: “She’s not in Texas.”

DSC07176