Worries and Questions about Home Schooling Part II

Below is a comment to a recent reader of my blog:

So you do summer home school with your children by having reading time and some Math and you don’t think you are doing such a great job??? And you feel guilty for wanting alone time with your husband??? It is so sad (and all too familiar) that you would say those things. I think the two biggest things that cripple us as women and mothers are not having confidence in our abilities and guilt. You are obviously a very capable teaching mother and you have five kids…OF COURSE you want alone time. I don’t care if you home school or not, finding out what is best for your children through prayer is the best thing you can do for them, which you are already doing. So good job.

And as for those perfectionist home schooling moms that always have their house cleaned, keep a tight schedule, bake their own bread and prattle on about how their kids can name all the bones in the human body, well, between you and me, we hate them. Actually, I don’t think they exist and if you want to feel good about yourself, look at my blog some more. I am the perfect example of NON perfectionist and “what’s easiest?”

Yes, small world! I thought that was you, but Joey didn’t recognize your married last name. Really, you seem like such a wonderful mom and just do what you feel. I never thought I would home school my children, but here I am and it has surprisingly been such a wonderful experience for me (I really think and hope for them too.)

Love,

Sabrina

4 thoughts on “Worries and Questions about Home Schooling Part II

  1. Thanks for the pep talk, of course this is all stuff I tell my friends as well, but we all go through some sort of something like this, like once a month ;). So as for information on the Thomas Jefferson Education, I don’t know how to give you direct links but there is a book out there by Oliver DeMille called “A Thomas Jefferson Education”. Also a website, http://www.tjed.org. I think these will summerize the theory behind the method better than I can. Since I have asked you about the Charlotte Mason method I have done some research and received the answers I was looking for, thanks!!!
    Yes, small world indeed! I wish we lived in Vegas or close by I am sure our children would make good playmates. We live clear up in Star Valley, Wyoming, where it snowed over two feet just this last weekend. Our home is at the mouth of a very secluded and rugged canyon so you can imagine our social life is pretty limited. Joey for sure married well, it’s fun to see how everyone you grew up with has turned out huh? Thanks again for the up beat blogs and information! Jamie

  2. Wow, that sounds like fun to live in Wyoming near a snowy canyon! Joey and I always talk about how now that we home school we can live where ever we want and not worry about what kind of schools are in the neighborhood. But really you gotta live where the job is. Joey is a computer programmer. What does your husband do that you get to live in Star Valley!?

  3. He is a carpenter in the winter and a Landscaper in the summer. He has is degree in Landscaping, and we have done work for city planners and the like but we also found that we would like to live in an environment conducive to the way we would like our children to be raised. So in order to make the needed finances, he builds homes to get us through the winter. We also bought a nursery in Thayne, Wyoming, improved it and sold it this fall!!! We love it here, we live in an old farm house with a barn and lots of streams and wildlife right out our back door. Although coming from living in town to this is an adjustment and my roots being in St. George, the winters get long. I run a lot up the canyon, and soak up as much sun as I can get in my garden in the summer.Sometime I will have to tell you about my scarry wildlife sightings on my long runs. Besides my kids, those are my hobbies! What are yours? Do you know where Star Valley is?
    There are a lot of the guys in our graduating class that went into the computer thing…In fact the guy I was dating when we graduated is a accounting software writer for…Gateway I think. Neat!

Leave a Reply

