A Sabrina School Diploma???

This morning Isabel finished two Math worksheets and a test while Luke slept in. When the lazy finally woke up, I had them put their spelling words into alphabetical order. Next their spelling test. Then the Christmas candle with scripture, story and song. I then had Luke do his Math worksheets while Isabel looked up seven more words in sign language to teach us. Luke then read an article in their Ranger Rick Magazine titled, Nature’s Jewels about petrified wood, opals, amber, and other geology nerd stuff. He then wrote a report on it and read it to us. Isabel taught us her sign language words (by the way, heaven forbid if you have one finger slightly out of place) we then were off to meet friends at Burger King.

The cashier at Burger King asked me why my kids weren’t in school.  I said, “They don’t go to school.”  He asked if I home school them.  I said yes.  Then he asked me all kinds of questions about how they get a high school diploma.  I must have looked like an idiot because I really don’t exactly know.  I can easily research it online, but hey, I’m just taking this one day at a time.  For all I know next week the brats will  have pushed me over the edge and I will  be shoving them off to public school.  If anyone has any information about home schoolers and high school diplomas, or an opinion about it, let me know!

3 thoughts on “A Sabrina School Diploma???

  1. I was talking to another homeschooling Mom and she said that the government and whoever “they” are would have you THINK you need a high school diploma. She says that no one really has to have one to move forward in life. And to get into college you just need to submit your SAT or ACT scores. I’m not and haven’t looked anything up online…but I like that idea.

  2. I say worry about that question when it becomes relevant – by my calculations that gives you several years at the least. Besides, the cashier at Burger King? Next time ask him if he has his life planned out ten years in advance.

  3. No, you do not need a diploma to graduate. You can make one yourself and present it to your teen, if you wish. Colleges want to see a transcript (which you make) that lists the courses your student took during high school. They need to see test scores (ACT or SAT) along with other activities and achievements. Most want a good essay and are more concerned about being well-rounded. The only people who still ask for a diploma are the government and/or civil employers (like the police/sheriff/fire department). The military doesn’t ask for one — so unless your student wants to become a police officer, he/she might need to have one on hand. You can order one online that looks very official and has a gold seal and a nice leather cover.

    BTW – no one has ever asked for my high school or college diploma. I have had to provide my transcript showing my degree, however. This was just for one specific job where I had to verify my actual graduation date. No big deal.

    Relax and enjoy homeschooling. This is our 5th year and my son is a 10th grader.

Leave a Reply

